Virginia Beach DUI Lawyer
Pulled Over for DUI? Fight DUI Penalties in Virginia
When an officer pulls you over, they may ask you to submit to a chemical test or arrest you on the grounds of driving under the influence (DUI). To avoid serious consequences, exercise your right to legal counsel and hire a Virginia Beach DUI defense attorney to defend you.
Contact us at (757) 337-2500 today to schedule your free case evaluation with our Virginia Beach DUI attorneys!
Why Hire a Virginia Beach DUI Lawyer?
What you receive as our client:
- A seasoned Virginia Beach DUI lawyer offering dedicated representation
- Years of experience as a former prosecutor and Marine
- Legal guidance from a defender who is committed to protecting your future
- Fast action to defend your driver's license
Our Virginia Beach DUI attorneys have worked hard to earn our reputation in the legal community and set ourselves apart from other criminal defense firms in the area.
DUI Penalties in Virginia
The penalties you face for a Virginia Beach DUI conviction depend heavily on the circumstances of your arrest. This may include your blood alcohol level (BAC) at the time of the arrest, whether or not you refused a chemical test, and if there were any extenuating circumstances.
For example, if you allegedly hit or injured another individual, were involved in a hit and run, or have prior convictions on your record, this could lead to more serious penalties.
If you are convicted, you could face:
- Jail time
- Substantial fines
- License suspension
- A criminal record
These penalties do not include the following social penalties which are often the harshest repercussions for a conviction:
- The social stigma
- Loss of relationship
- Loss of reputation
Virginia Select Penalties
If you have been charged for DUI in Virginia, there are other select DUI penalties that you could be facing.
Your license suspension or revocation will be prosecuted as follows:
- 1st offense – 1 year
- 2nd offense – 3 years
- 3rd offense – could be permanent
You also may be facing these additional penalties:
- Vehicle confiscation
- Alcohol education, assessment or treatment
- Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
It is important that you understand your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limitations, as this will influence the level of charges you are facing. In the state of Virginia, you can be charged with DUI if your BAC percentage is 0.08%. If you are under 21, you may be charged if it is only 0.02%. There is also an enhanced penalty or aggravated penalty for 0.15% or above. It is important to know that if you have a driver’s license you have already consented to submit to a BAC test as Virginia upholds “implied consent.” If you have been charged with DUI, speak with our Virginia Beach DUI attorney as soon as possible to discuss your options.
A Virginia Beach DUI lawyer can not only help explain what you can expect, but can guide you through the entire legal process.
To make an appointment for a complimentary case consultation, contact Invictus Law today.